Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

Radical Play: Last Game

For me, the excitement lay in figuring out how to solve that new puzzle
1

Note: This is an unlocked LMA module. If you want access to the rest of Liberation Martial Arts, upgrade your account. We send out learning modules almost daily. If you're no longer getting LMA updates, your payment information may no longer be up to date. Click on the table of contents above to see if you have access to LMA.


The LMA Learning Lab in Los Angeles recently had its second and third technical muay Thai competitions within two weeks of each other. Out of the LMAists, I, in the red chest guard, was the last to compete. I woke up at 6 AM for a three-hour drive to make the 11 AM weigh-ins. I was told I would go at 1 PM, but my match didn't happen until 4 PM. (Insert cry emoji.)

I was exhausted, annoyed, on edge, and hungry, to say the least. I was even afraid to use the bathroom and miss my name being called. Despite that, I found solace in my comrades and the strong community we built. The hours of waiting and the long drive were not easy, but going through a new experience together as a team was meaningful for all of us. Getting the opportunity to play with a new opponent was also thrilling. However, by the time I was finally called, I felt pretty flat. Yet, well into my forties, I had my first-ever kickboxing match. I had never participated in a striking match before. Unlike anything competitive I had done before, the support of my community and approaching competition as a fun game made all the difference.

Leading up to the event, I was dealing with several challenges. I had recently suffered a concussion from an accident where I banged my head into a wall. As a result, I couldn't train much in preparation. But by the time the event had arrived, I was medically cleared, and I was excited to compete, so I did.

The only thing that made me nervous was my degenerative disc disease. Whenever I take a stiff punch to the head, I experience excruciating pain, losing all feeling in my left arm. This condition limits my mobility and the use of both arms. These debilities, along with chronic pain and a lack of cartilage in my knees, are extra conditions of the game—ones baked into who I am. These issues also plagued me when I competed in Brazilian jiu-jitsu. Only through the LMA approach have I been able to rehabilitate myself and take on new martial arts challenges. I would have had to quit altogether if I had to rely on the commercial gym model.

With my preexisting conditions in mind, my best defense wasn't durability or toughness but perception and composure. Thankfully, that's all I train.

As I expected, my opponent was roughly half my age. No one in the LMA Learning Lab is a young athlete, which is why I found the challenge of facing a younger opponent fun. For me, the excitement lay in figuring out how to solve that new puzzle.

To access the complete Liberation Martial Arts curriculum and contribute to its sustainability, consider upgrading your membership. Find other ways to support me here. – Sam

Despite feeling drained, I found myself immersed in the moment once the match began. I couldn't have asked for a better opponent. He flew around the mat. He was a great mover with great perception, body awareness, and evasive movements. He could kick equally well from both sides, and chain kicks together effortlessly.

When you're young and nimble, you don't need much information to start your offense. When you lack reads, you can rely on speed and dexterity. I, on the other hand, cannot afford to do that. My initial aim was to perturb my opponent to force reactions, which would give me information to work with. As I gathered more information, I began solving the puzzle before me—or at least attempting to.

Without ropes to corner my opponent, containing such a great mover became even more difficult. I had to offer myself as a target, tempting him to come within range. Since he was so fast, I had to attack not where he was but where he would be.

In LMA, we see movement as shapemaking. Whether my strikes land or not, I can shape my opponent's movement. If I'm the one creating the shapes, despite being slower, I have the advantage of knowing what shapes will emerge next. I can also switch between stances, which affords me more movement diversity. The more movement freedom and diversity I can maximize, the more I can compensate for my limitations and disadvantages. My confidence grew as the match went on, but I also felt my energy waning. Fortunately, the match was only three rounds.

I hope my opponent continues to grow as a competitor, aiming for bigger challenges and I was just an old guy he met along the way. I, too, hope to face new challenges on my own journey. Why not? I have the LMA approach and my comrades.

To access the Liberation Martial Arts curriculum and contribute to the sustainability of this project, consider upgrading your membership. Find other ways to support me here. – Sam

✊✊✊

(I write daily about martial arts and other topics from a liberatory perspective. If you like my work, upgrade your subscription. You can also support me on Patreon or make a one-time donation on Ko-fi. Find Southpaw at its website. Get the swag on Spring. Also check out Liberation Martial Arts Online.)

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Liberation Martial Artist 🥊
Liberation Martial Artist 🥊