Liberation Martial Artist 🥊
Liberation Martial Artist 🥊 Podcast
Fighter's Brew – S3: E9 (Audio + Transcript)
Preview
0:00
-3:53

Fighter's Brew – S3: E9 (Audio + Transcript)

[Note: Read the manga images from right to left. To unlock the transcript, upgrade to paid.]

The ref waves his hands. Just like that, Takashi wins the fight.

"Those first two left mid kicks," says Maki. "He held back on purpose to bait Kagaya. He can basically finish his opponent whenever he wants with a left kick."

"I'm gonna go wash my face," Meguru says nervously as he runs out of the gym.

"Takashi," says Tsukisada-sensei, "well done, but not quite perfect. Next time, the kick needs to be flawless. Like a machine."

"Yes, sir," says Takashi.

"This isn't the end," Kagaya's teammate tells Kagaya. "As long as you keep improving, you'll get another chance to settle the score."

Maki is hitting pads with Maria to warm up. Ayako is doing the same with her coach, Onishi.

"Where's Meguru?" asks Maki.

"He's still pretty worn out from the semi-finals," says Maria. "He's already had a long day and a tougher path to the finals than Takashi. Why not go check on him?"

Maki sprints to the door.

Meguru steps out of the bathroom, wiping his mouth. He's been throwing up.

"It's almost time for the finals," he thinks. "I can already see it. He's gonna knock me out in seconds. I just wanna run away."

"Meguru!" shouts Maki.

Meguru is startled and covers his face.

"Dude, relax," she says. "I'm not gonna hurt you. I'm sorry about what I said earlier. I wasn't thinking. My bad."

"Oh, no biggie," Meguru says, "It's true after all."

"Ah, come on. Yamabuki? More like Yamawussy! Do we even know what his stamina's like? I bet neither does he. Does he know how to fight off script when things aren't going his way?"

"Do you ever get nervous, Maki-chan?"

"Of course!"

"Yeah, right."

"No, really! I'm super nervous all the time."

"Could have fooled me," Meguru says.

"Gimme your hand!" she says, placing his hand over her heart.

"See, my heart's beating like crazy."

They both gasp when they realize where his hand is.

"Pervert!" Maki exclaims as she puts Meguru in a stranglehold.

She releases him but leaves her arms around his shoulders.

She whispers into his ear, "I'm scared too, you know. Nagamine might knock me out cold with one punch. But remember what you said to me? You said, 'Let's kick some ass out there!' and bumped my fist. So that's what I'm gonna do. You've gotten stronger, Meguru. I would know."

To access Fighter's Brew episodes and transcripts and contribute to the sustainability of this project, consider upgrading your membership. Find other ways to support me here. – Sam

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Liberation Martial Artist 🥊 to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Liberation Martial Artist 🥊
Liberation Martial Artist 🥊 Podcast
Audio episodes from Liberation Martial Artist. To listen without any breaks or interruptions, upgrade your subscription.